Put it on the slate….

Singing along to Bob Dylan as I was cooking last night was not only a dreadful aural experience for anyone listening but also a strange one for me as Bob and I have never really hit it off. I hate his songs and his singing and he doesn’t know me. The same could be said of Fergus Henderson, in that he doesn’t know me, but I sing an anthem to his new St John Hotel under my breath quite often. Although unvisited it remains one of the few things, the other being my fantastic family and friends, that I miss in England. The understated total rightness of the ethic, the rooms, restaurant, bar and food does for me what Valhalla did for the Vikings. I don’t want to die there, but you could do a lot worse. That is by the by, as I won’t be eating there unless an underground line is opened from La Moussiere to Leicester Square and the management drops the tarif to include a 10€ four course lunch with wine. Just thinking of the wonderful things I ate at the old St.John, and the excellent evenings and lunchtimes that I spent there, made me set up a simple lunch menu, of melon and Serrano ham followed by Piperade and a fresh peach and it made me feel good.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, Fergus Henderson, food, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, piperade, Serrano ham, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Put it on the slate….

  1. Simple, fresh and tasty. That ham looks wonderful.

  2. The peach looks fantastic. Your memories make me want to visit England, although my heart is set on Italy first.

  3. Didn’t know there was a St. John Hotel. I’ve been to the restaurant for dinner. I still have their matches with the signature pig (I collect pig objects.) It was in about 2005.

    I was surprised at their extensive meat dishes that weren’t just straight forward meat like bone marrow something…

Leave a Reply

