A la recherche du temps perdu…….

I have spent today in the past. Had I been a time lord it would have taken me less time to travel to and from the mid 19th century where I have been immersed in the pictures and history of people of whom I have never heard or, for the most part, of whom I have only a dim recollection. These people are my family. My sister has assiduously gathered together an extraordinary set of pictures and documents which paint a clear picture of a family through the last 150 years or so. Working on the pictures and letters in Photoshop gets one even closer, as I’m often working at 300% magnification. So when a faded picture is titled ” So and so in a dress she made for herself” I end up seeing the stitching and tiny details of pattern in a faded piece of silk. I also become aware of the fact that, in those times, having a photographic portrait taken was an occasion. There was still some magic in a trivial moment. I think that’s something that I have rediscovered in my life here. Mundane things and events have become magic to me, like this garlic drying in a nearby barn, and I’m richer for it.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A la recherche du temps perdu…….

  1. Beautiful photo, thanks for sharing it and your thoughts.

  2. Ah the smell of garlic drying in the background. Is that a blue police call box I see in the background?

  3. Rick deslandes says:

    roger you are in danger of become a serious poet !
    Rick

  4. I’m glad you mentioned spending time in the past through photos. I recently met up with a friend I graduated with 10 years ago and have been going through old photos since then. Great post!

Leave a Reply

