Are G.N.O.C.C.H.I’s the Italian equivalent of British T.O.W.I.E’s?

The rubber brick moment was upon me late last night as the television screen silently informed me that there was “No satellite signal being received” but did not add the codecil “….so keep drinking until you fall asleep”. I rely on the overall dullness of television programmes to act as drug free sleeping draught so this was a blow. The enormous  size of English Sunday newspapers and the myriad of TV channels competing to produce the most mind numbingly awful programmes is one of the few times that I believe that “less is more”. Tastefully arranged plates of food wrung from the soul of conceited chefs and sad John Pawson interiors prove that “less is a very expensive con that will cost you a lot more than you can imagine”. Had summer continued in the time honoured fashion I would not have been aware of the lack of satellite support, as I would have been in the garden with Jenny letting the wonder of a summer evening do its somniferous best, and therin lies the different view of “townie” and farmer. The latter is revelling in the rain, not concerned with watching crap on television as he’s been up to his ankles in the stuff all day and is so exhausted by his normal 36 hour day that he would not be awake long enough for a sleeping draught to take effect, whilst us “townies” relax, after a hard day at the keyboard,  with a few glasses of wine whilst bemoaning the fact that there is not wall to wall sun during the period we have designated as summer. As there was no sun I made a rather wintery, but nonetheless delicious, dish of gnocchi with spinach, cream and blue cheese. Could  G.N.O.C.C.H.I’s (Ghastly Neapolitans on Cocaine and Champagne getting Heavily Inebriated) be an Italian version T.O.W.I.E’s.( American and non English European readers of my blog need to check this acronym on the internet, then watch a programme about the people identified by the acronym, to get the full effect, and to relish the success of the English education system and marvel at our new meritocracy)

Gnocchi with spinach, cream and blue cheese:

1/ Wilt some spinach leaves in butter and season.

2/ Throw some gnocchi into boiling water (or thrown in TOWIE’S)

3/ Drain the gnocchi and put it into an ovenproof dish.

4/ Mix the spinach and some broken up blue cheese, such as Fourme d’Ambert,  with the gnocchi and pour over some thin cream.

5/ Cook until browned and bubbling in an oven a 180C ( about 20 mins)

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Photography, Photography holiday, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are G.N.O.C.C.H.I’s the Italian equivalent of British T.O.W.I.E’s?

  1. Off to google after this.:) What a great looking recipe and I’m not even a huge fan of gnocchi, don’t tell my nana. But I swear that would be gone in about 15 seconds. Well maybe 45, it’d need to cool.

  2. This looks great! I’m going to make this when I get back.

  3. “Are G.N.O.C.C.H.I’s the Italian equivalent of British T.O.W.I.E’s?”
    I don’t know.. I just love eating everything… Specially British foods.. I’ll try this one right after.. Looks like a great tandem with a tea.

Leave a Reply

