My toast fell butter side up……

The story recounts how an unlucky man, on dropping his freshly buttered toast onto the carpet, notices that it has unusually fallen butter side up. Feeling that this is a sign of his changing fortunes he consults with a rabbi, who in turn consults with his colleagues to ascertain the meaning of this omen. The conclusion was that he had buttered his toast on the wrong side. When I am taking pictures I sometimes feel that I am in that man’s shoes, very often with the soles of those shoes thickly buttered as I walk over priceless carpets. Early this morning, Trigger having returned to the bosom of his family, I was at a loss. I had got up ready for a walk with the dog and all I lacked was a dog. Then I remembered the amazing apricot curd I had made earlier in the week:

700gm apricots, halved stones removed.  270 gm caster sugar. 4 eggs. 125 gm butter, diced. lemon juice to taste.

1/ Cook the apricots in a pan until soft, with just enough water to cover them. When ready drain and keep half of the cooking juice.

2/ Purée the fruit, juice and sugar in a processor. Push the purée through a fine wire sieve and chill the mixture in the fridge.

3/ Beat the eggs and stir them through the purée. Put the mixture in a saucepan and cook over a low heat, slowly adding the butter. Add lemon juice to taste. Cool and store in the fridge.

This is a wonderful thing, which becomes more wonderful when paired with a meringue and I had a box of meringues that I had made earlier. In 99 cases out of 100, attempting food photography when half asleep is a sure fire way to ensure your toast falls butter side down, but being half asleep prevented such fine judgement from entering the equation and the force was with me. This is also very good with vanilla ice cream, or cooked on top of a shortbread base, or with fromage frais, or by the loving spoonful…..

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in apricots, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, meringues, Photography holiday, Sue Fairlie-Cuninghame, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My toast fell butter side up……

  1. Wow, I love how deep and rich the color of the curd is, simply stunning.

  2. Simply fantastic. Did you flavor your meringues in any way?

  3. joshuafagans says:

    Sounds great. Love when the stone fruits start showing up again!

Leave a Reply

