I tried a little pot…

And it looks like I inhaled. I need to get out of the habit of making unattractive looking food and I thought a little pot would help. I have fond memories of potted shrimps but they are shrouded in the mists of time. This is a truly traditional English dish and I have not been eating traditional English food for a good 10 years. I found this particularly good recipe, from which I have made a bit of a pig’s ear, in the excellent “No Cook Cookbook” by Orlando Murrin. The idea is to roughly chop shrimps (small shrimps, not prawns) adding Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco, sun dried tomato purée, red pesto, softened butter and seasoning. The mixture is put into little ramekins and then turned out, or eaten in the pot. I added hot melted butter, as in old fashioned potted shrimps, to seal the top and to make it easier to turn out. Maybe that was the mistake – turning them out, that is. They would have been prettier left in the white ramekin. They did, however, taste great. Luckily, whilst bemoaning the aesthetics of my effort, I chanced upon some fantastic Bigarreaux cherries with which I plan to make something delicious which will also please the eye. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Orlando Murrin, Photography, Photography holiday, seafood, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I tried a little pot…

  1. While I really enjoyed your cherries photo, I didn’t seem to mind the potted shrimp one either. Though, I had to enlarge the photo to get a better look at it. And, since I’ve never heard of this recipe, I’ll definitely give it a try! Great post!

  2. mary cadogan says:

    Potted shrimps,yum. I don’t understand the turning them out lark- I love to break through the butter crust to find the tasty shrimps below. Also, I like to zap the pots in the microwave or oven very briefly just to soften the butter a tiny bit so it doesn’t break into shards and make spreading them on toasted soda bread easier.

Leave a Reply

