Hungry for a little culture

Alexander Fleming and I have grown closer over the last few days although I doubt I will ever share his enthusiasm for culture. I have a certain advantage over Alexander in that the live culture that I am overseeing is edible and enjoyable whereas breakfasting on the “filtrate of a broth culture of the Penicillium mould” wouldn’t do it for me. Although I dutifully carry out my daily feeding of the culture in my charge, I am already feeling that it doesn’t try very hard to be interesting. If it’s alive I expect a little more. Plants and flowers make a far better fist of it. They bud, flower, change shape and don’t hide away in the dark. I think yoghourt could do with employing a little more showmanship. Maybe Ghengis Khan wasn’t keen on showy yoghourt and his harsh lessons have passed from generation to generation creating a culture of fear of being thought a “clever dick” whom nobody likes. If that is the case then live yoghourt got it badly wrong as the rows of fruity, showy supermarket products clearly prove. After that specious argument I must declare a fondness for a little culture in the morning. The addition of dried cranberries and maple syrup took it into the super food league. I wonder if Alexander ever considered making penicillin a little more exciting. It’s all very well curing the ills of the world, but that’s not much use if it doesn’t look or taste good.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hungry for a little culture

  1. I read your blog alot and the information you have on it has been very useful to me. I just wanted to say Hi and say keep up the good work and to let you know that your blog is being read and it is useful 🙂 I look forward to more of your blog posts. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

