Crisped sage leaves with anchovy fillets…from dull to dramatic

Sage green becomes more than a tone of colour when I’m sitting next my pots of herbs, chilled glass in the hand. The problem is that however dramatic sage leaves look, it is not that easy to bring that same dramatic quality to the  palate. I had a recollection of Maggie Beer writing about crisped sage leaves in a book she wrote with Stephanie Alexander about Tuscany, the pages of which I was flicking before you could say…. something quite drawn out as it took me a while to find it. The Tuscans like to put the leaves into some melted, or browned butter and then crisp them in olive oil. A light batter is another option, with an anchovy fillet between leaf and batter. They go very well with a glass of red, and in fact look and taste quite dramatic.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crisped sage leaves with anchovy fillets…from dull to dramatic

  1. That looks almost like “shiso” (Japanese basil) tempura!

  2. I read your blog alot and the information you have on it has been very useful to me. I just wanted to say Hi and say keep up the good work and to let you know that your blog is being read and it is useful 🙂 I look forward to more of your blog posts. Thanks.

  3. This makes great sense to me!!

Leave a Reply

