I found my thrill on blueberry……..

Suddenly berries are everywhere, particularly the wonderful Gariguette strawberries, which are the first of the season, and which taste more of strawberries than strawberries do. More of that another time. The sight of all the berries during my shopping expedition became linked with clearing the remnants from the freezer, an operation that remains in progress, and set me to leafing through cookery books. “The French Kitchen” by Joanne Harris and Fran Warde is a book that pleases me and Debbie Treloar’s pictures create an intimate view of France which is familiar to me. A delicious recipe for a tarte aux myrtilles produced a mental image of the packet of frozen blueberries and the frozen tart cases that were amongst the last survivors of the freezer purge. The recipe is simple:

Make some pâte brisée in whatever quantity you need to line your chosen push-up bottom flan tin. Heat the oven to 200C.

For the filling of a 25 cm flan tin. I halved these ingredients to make 2 small tarts:

500g blueberries, 2 eggs, 125 gms unrefined caster sugar, 175ml double cream (I used creme fraiche), 25gms flour and 1 dessertspoon of creme de cassis.

Put the berries in the chilled tart case and mix together the eggs, sugar, cream, flour and cassis until smooth. Pour the mixture over the berries. Sprinkle with a little extra sugar and bake for 35 minutes. Serve warm or cold.

I was unable to wait until it was cold. This is truly a delicious recipe and could be made with most berries. I had some mixture left over, so attempted a blueberry pudding, cooked in a ramekin in a bain marie. Looks great, but tasted a bit floury. I guess I was thinking of blue berry muffin, but lighter.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Fran Warde, France, Joanne Harris, Photography holiday, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

