Creme Caramel – the proof of the pudding

There’s something very grown up about the taste of slightly burnt sugar. I’ve recently grown to love making caramel – not loving it, but enjoying it a lot. Loving food is a malapropism, although loving WITH food is a definite possibility. Could this be the “passion” that is so often the keyword in articles written about food? I’ve never been a fan of custard per se, but set egg custards seem to transcend the nursery food association of pouring custard. I have one good memory of pouring custard which involved a  pale, yet intensely vanilla flavoured, creme anglaise and a bitter orange jelly, but that’s it. But caramel, or blowtorch burnt sugar, in conjunction with set egg custard is failsafe. The smell coming from the kitchen when the sugar and water have magically turned into a golden brown mirror is as good as a dinner gong. The proof of the pudding is that those such as creme caramel and creme brulee need no adornment, and that is a very good benchmark.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creme Caramel – the proof of the pudding

  1. Sadie Erdner says:

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

