Last of last summer’s sun dried tomatoes

Misty Monday morning made me look at these remnants of last summer’s heat. It’s hard to remember the summer sun after a long cold winter, and to imagine that it will be hot enough to dry trays of tomatoes. Even though the clocks  sprung forward on Sunday, I’ll be cutting firewood today. Yesterday’s  poule au pot was good  – comforting and warming – but now I’m looking forward to peaches, melons and cherries. Just no pleasing me.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, France, Photography, Photography holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Last of last summer’s sun dried tomatoes

  1. Beautiful! I’m looking forward to spring/summer fruit, too…

    🙂

  2. That looks interesting. We have yet to dry our garden tomatoes. Gardening is so fun that way, in that there is always something to learn. Love your cattle photo, aka The Usual Suspects. 🙂

  3. Lakia Gordon says:

    I’m so excited about summer!!! My favorite fruits and veggies will be ready for me 🙂

  4. The Compulsive Writer says:

    As the Compulsive Writer… I couldn’t resist: The dreary clouds looked down upon the glistening can of tomatoes, “what are you doing here?” They asked cynically. “Were last summer.” They answered cheerfully.

    A poem too:

    So much depends
    upon

    a sun dried
    tomato

    cured by its
    juices

    beneath the silver
    lid

    Great pics! Love..love…love France. Did I say Love? LOVE.

  5. i think this picture has inspired me to attempt gardening this summer!

  6. I am so relived spring is here at last! I love sundried tomatoes, and i have to say, your beautiful picture is 1. making me hungry, 2. dreaming of a goats cheese salad with sun dried tomatoes- preferably enjoyed in the Cote D’Azur….

  7. Pingback: MARATHONS AND DIVERSE OPINIONS SPOTLIGHTING – HOLLYWOOD 3.27.11 « Horiwood's Blog

  8. Katie Gou says:

    Great shot, I love the way the light sits in the tomatoes. They look great, can I have some?

  9. BREWPRINTS says:

    I’m very exited for the warm season to begin. I have dill and parsley in my window sill and I’m contemplating an upside down tomato plant!

  10. I dry my tomatoes every summer, too… what kind of oil do you jar them in?

  11. eva626 says:

    love that picture! i also love peppers!!!! great post…congrats on fp’ed

  12. Farmtalk says:

    I am so excited about the oncoming summer! Man, those tomatoes look awful tasty! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Just saying, my website is http://www.brainfresh.freeforums.org if anyone is interested… It is a really fun site!

  13. that looks so gooooood…

  14. All County Insurance - Brea, California says:

    Hmmm … I sure would love to get some sun dried tomatoes on a piece of bread with some cheese on a hot summer day! THanks for the post!

  15. Great post, makes me want to return to Italy.

  16. Simple yet to the point, almost like a short poem. I am sitting next to my portable heater, dreaming of warm sandy beaches.

  17. TweeCo says:

    Great picture, great texture and lighting.
    I like sun dry tomato…really want to learn who to make it

  18. crystarr says:

    Wow, your pictures are stunning! The season is changing here down under, and we can’t wait till it’s a bit cooler! 🙂

  19. Pingback: food item – by george youssef « أنا مستنياك من الصبح يا أستاذ شبار‏ة – نجوي فؤاد في حد السيف . سحر الباك الإسلامي

  20. rtcrita says:

    Gorgeous color in that photo! I’m taking a class on Saturday at the local County Extensions Office on how to preserve the bounty from my garden this year. I can’t wait because I end up giving way too much away when I would much rather have some for the winter. I hope to tackle my fears of canning and preserving finally!

  21. Ellen says:

    in the beginning,i saw the photo ,i think that’s hot pepper, but i read your essay,i known that’s dried tomatoes , it ‘s interesting!

  22. As the Compulsive Writer… I couldn’t resist: The dreary clouds looked down upon the glistening can of tomatoes, “what are you doing here?” They asked cynically. “Were last summer.” They answered cheerfully.

  23. those look so good!! mmmmm… (: congrats on FP!!

  24. Brenda K says:

    Wow – that’s beautiful! I was thinking of trying my hand at drying some tomatoes this summer. Do you have a recipe or “tip sheet” handy? Is there a specific type of tomato that works well for this, or more importantly, won’t work? I’m growing a selection of heirlooms this summer. Congrats on making “freshly pressed”! I love France, BTW 🙂

    • Hi there

      Thanks for your kind comments. Re the tomatoes – I wait until the end of summer for the intensely flavoured tomatoes that are sold by the crate for a few Euros. Cut them in half, scoop out any seed and put them on trays in the sun, or preferably on a low roof, covered in chicken wire to keep them safe from the birds!

      • Brenda K says:

        Wow! Never would have thought it would be that simple. Definitely going to try it – thanks!!

      • Brenda K says:

        P.S. Any approximate number of days to dry them, or just “until they look done”? I expect it shouldn’t take long in the July/August Southern California sun!

  25. Italia says:

    I am so excited and thrilled that summer is fast approaching. Many of the things that I can’t do before I can now do it like planting flowers and vegetables in my small garden .
    I loved to see the flowers that bloom.

  26. Amazing photo. The red in the tomato is absolutely brilliant! Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  27. I love summer because of its fruits!I love peaches,mango and so on!Summer is really a good season.

  28. richannkur says:

    Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  29. maxgames.me says:

    Great post, makes me want to return to Italy.
    http://www.maxgames.me

  30. AnastasiaVS says:

    great composition!

  31. mike says:

    I like tomatoes. I sometimes have them on a sandwich with mayonnaise and like turkey or cheese.

  32. Connie T says:

    Nice picture of the tomatoes. It is getting warm where I live. A plate of fresh sliced tomatoes sounds good to me. I have never eaten sun dried tomatoes.

  33. Isn’t it amazing what a nice picture of tomatoes can inspire? My farm upbringing in Canada revolved around food production and the heaps and heaps of tomatoes my parents processed was truly amazing…nice memories.

  34. Niki Fulton says:

    Lovely photo, the black rustic background is perfect next to the shiny red tomatoes, love the contrasts.

  35. I am so relived spring is here at last! I love sundried tomatoes, and i have to say, your beautiful picture is 1. making me hungry, 2. dreaming of a goats cheese salad with sun dried tomatoes- preferably enjoyed in the Cote D’Azur….

  36. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines 🙂

  37. Good post! I have a random question for you. How do you get your blog indexed by bing? I have a related web blog.

  38. Legalsounds says:

    I wanted to thank you for this great I definitely loved every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your site to look at the latest stuff you post.

  39. Zegarki says:

    Very interesing blog.

  40. Pingback: Taking up the gauntlet….. | Camerahols / Food, Photography & France

Leave a Reply

