You can judge this book by its cover

Certain books not only inspire me, but make me act on the inspiration. I am not speaking of lofty ideals just a simple lust for good tastes. “Ripailles”is such a book. I feel a certain schadenfreude as I look at the mouthwatering ideas illustrated in the book as I am acutely aware that no restaurateur within a 100km radius of our home could afford to produce such food. Not because the dishes are expensive or complicated, but because they really can’t AFFORD to run such a restaurant financially, and they would not have a customer base. The French bistro exists in London and even on Merseyside, but not in provincial France. So I make the food at home. These little chocolate custards did it for me yesterday, and I’ve just been reading a simple recipe for Poule au Pot. Guess what’s for dinner?

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, France, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You can judge this book by its cover

  1. Ellie says:

    Hii I love your photos! Very nice and bright too. I’m a total newbie but enjoy taking photos just for fun and stuff. I think it’s awesome that you and your wife in France!~And it’s weird that I’ve never actually heard of Vendee.

  2. arolleston says:

    Your chocolate brulee (I’m assuming that is what these essentially are) look fabulous. Do you use cocoa powder or go all out and use melted chocolate in your custard? I’m a baker in Portland, OR, and can’t seem to get my chocolate brulee just how I want it. Any suggestions?

  3. Pingback: food item – by george youssef « أنا مستنياك من الصبح يا أستاذ شبار‏ة – نجوي فؤاد في حد السيف . سحر الباك الإسلامي

  4. ladyemmy says:

    I love how you speak of food. You make me want the food you want 🙂 and the pictures are gorgeous, adding to my sudden desire for chocolate custard. Thanks for the inspiration!
    -m

Leave a Reply

