Why have the bastards rejected these pictures? I fucking hate rejection.

This is the first of three sample pictures that I sent to iStockphoto for them to assess my ability as a photographer. Here is the second:

and here is the third:

All of them were rejected for the following reason:

“At this time we regret to inform you that we did not feel the overall composition of your photography or subject matter is at the minimum level of standard for iStockphoto. Please take some time to review training materials, resources and articles provided through iStockphoto. The photographs provided in your application should be diverse in subject matter, technical ability and should be your best work. Think conceptual, creative and most important think Stock photography. Try to avoid the average eye level push the button perspective of a common subject. Try and impress us, we want to see how you stand out from the crowd

Would you agree with that? I’d be interested to know if I’m losing my mind and ability as a photographer, so please leave a comment. Many thanks.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why have the bastards rejected these pictures? I fucking hate rejection.

  1. sam stowell says:

    fucking idiots

  2. John Harvey says:

    Their response is the literary equivalent of what they lazily criticise. They’ve exposed their indifference to creativity and thought provoking quality.

  3. Look, Rog. This is why I did Maths at School and you did Art. And essentially why you can take photos and I can’t! For a start, why are you dealing with someone who thinks sticking an “i” in front of their name is some kind of sign of originality. They’ll regret the day…They just have an Albert Scroggins sitting there, and having looked at a few hundred photos that morning got to yours and thought, “I don’t like those…”. Just like my art master. I hated the history and english guys too. Too late now for you to do A level maths of course, but I wanted to say that the pen and inkwell photo I hadn’t seen before – I think it’s super brilliant! Can think of some kitchen compositions now – chip dipping in ketchup etc. If it weren’t for your rejection from Albert, I might not have seen and enjoyed it so much – ironically, my thanks to iScroggins ….

    • Hi there
      A brilliant reply that has cheered me up no end. I think the Atlantic is wider than I had imagined. By the way, I’m very envious of your hit rate – you’ve even got me comparing Flying 15 main sheets!

      All the best

      Roger

  4. PS why not send him one of those Roger shots of those bonkers little colourful fishing huts on legs sticking out into the sea – the ones with the dramatic sky. And if you can label the photo, just call it, “IQ Test”….

  5. Andrew Fenney says:

    What a load of bull. Some idiot just pushing the standard letter button. Have you sent them a link to your blog and websites?

  6. I really like the second photo with colour pencil shavings! 🙂

  7. mr. frey says:

    I’m an illustrator and I’ve used istock, but I don’t presume to have any clue into their inner thinking. But you asked for feedback, so here goes:

    Photo 1: I would guess that this isn’t the strongest landscape shot to lead with. Overall, the image is rather gray and I don’t think the sky is dynamic enough. If I had to guess, I would think stock houses trend towards super-saturated landscape images.
    Photo 2: I’m not sure why this would be rejected — I’d check to see how many similar images they have. Also, I might ask the question — how would a designer use this? The shavings are colorful, but there is no pencil or sharpener shown — would a designer want to include those elements too?
    Photo 3: Really have no clue why this would be rejected. It’s a nice image and would work well as a stock image.

  8. Bev Sparks says:

    My partner just forwarded your blog to me with “kindred spirit re istockphoto” in the subject matter. I think it was because, I too, have been in disbelief, ranting, and generally soured by my experience with them. Which has been the exact same as yours except I submitted twice and got the same response! At that point, I realized that I wasn’t interested in playing their game for pennies on the images.
    I assure you, your images are really wonderful, unique and eye catching. I spent a lot of time enjoying your blog and never once became bored with the images. So there poopy pants istockphoto!
    I have a friend who is involved with several stock agencies if you are interested I can hook you up…
    Bev – http://www.dogphotography.com

    • Hi there
      Thanks for the feedback. I’m already with a couple of other libraries that sell my food pictures, and they do well for me. I only went to iStockphoto as I am taking my landscapes out of Alamy, who have been very disappointing too. I’m very disenchanted with library at the moment, however, any suggestions would be welcome. Your site looks great, by the way.

  9. Your photograph, ‘Last of last summer’s sun dried tomatoes’, may be the sexiest photographs I have ever seen.

    I especially love the imperfection of allowing the orange seal of the canister to remain at the top of the photo. The orange seal together with the yellow accents in the dark background and the red of the tomatoes– its just awesome.

Leave a Reply

