Never give a pig a name…

This is the catering for a wedding in rural France. It certainly tests one’s determination to eat meat. It was probably the best pork that I have eaten, but that was a while ago. I was at the farm when the pig was slaughtered humanely, nevertheless I have found it hard to post this picture. There’s something here too similar with a human. Stained glass windows portray martyrs in similar ways. Would it be different if the carcass had no head?

The problem is that it tasted so good. I think townies, like myself, are fearful of death. The people amongst whom I now live treat dying as part of an ineluctable cycle. I’m not sure if one can adapt to a mindset like that. I’ll continue with the lentils and toulouse sausages – the ones without eyes.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, France, Photography, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never give a pig a name…

  1. The title AND the photo–priceless!

Leave a Reply

