So many Bidets.

The last few days have been bidets or days full of B’s. The first B is for Book.I have at last finished “Eating at La Moussière”.To those of you who have been on our digital photography courses, I hope the book will bring back memories of long summer evenings2001198 of relaxed eating and drinking in good company. Being immersed in the words and pictures over the last few months has brought good memories flooding back which have helped me get through these gloomy winter months with the  anticipation of the arrival of spring and the beginning of our season.

B2 or “to be” is the start of a Provencal daube de boeuf.

This is a fantastic beef stew whose flavours stem from capers, olives, orange zest, tomatoes and mushrooms. The piece of beef will sit in this casserole for 48 hours, gently absorbing flavour from a good bottle ( another B that I’m familiar with) of Chardonnay from the Pays d’Oc by way of Lidls. Oh bugger, why did I mention that. The truth is that this is an amazing 1,90€’s worth. I would certainly be happy to pay 4 or 5 times more for it – actually, I wouldn’t be as happy as paying the original 1,90€. The acronym ABC should have the addition of another B. ABBC would say “anything but bad Chardonnay”. It’s unusual to put beef in a white wine marinade, but this one works. The red meatiness, so alien to our house, is to be eaten by me and my son, Sam, to prepare us for the rigours of the England v France game.

B3 stands for a very good batch of almond and cranberry biscuits that I’ve just taken from the oven.

The finale was my Bidet that happened yesterday and I guess there will undoubtedly B a bouteille de rouge ce soir. Bye bye

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So many Bidets.

  1. Roger – do you have a link yet for the new Book?
    Best wishes, Richard and Jenny

Leave a Reply

