Gigolo d’Agneau

The two sheep that live in the field outside our kitchen door have taken on the role of Big Issue sellers in my psyche. I feel guilty if I pass by without giving them something, and enjoy a glow of self satisfaction as they gratefully accept the stale slices of  bread which I magnanimously give them from the goodness of heart. Aside from the fact that brioche is  their favourite, and the look in their eyes leaves me in no doubt that they are aware that they are only receiving unwanted scraps, I still get to feel that I have performed my charitable act for the day, although this mornings conditions gave me an immediate insight into the possible origin of the phrase “as cold as charity”. One would imagine that sheep would prefer something green, but this pair are big on carbs. One of them is a ewe, lone survivor of the savage cull that followed the demise of the flock’s aged and erstwhile guardian, and the other is a lamb, issue of a passing relationship with a gigolo ram. “Gigolo d’Agneau” or more accurately “Agneau du Gigolo” has a certain ring to it; neither engagement nor wedding, but nevertheless a ring. It was easy, at first, to distinguish the “baa” of the sheep from the bleating of the lamb. Stéphane Reynaud suggests that a Gallic sheep would be more likely to “bêêh” rather than to “baa”.  The “baa” or “bêêh” of the ewe has remained constant but the lamb’s voice has changed considerably, moving from bleat to “blêêh”. It makes me realise how inattentive I was to our children as they were developing from crying, to speaking, to raging. It has been suggested by my wife that it was not so much my inattentiveness that prevented me from noticing these subtle changes, more my absence from the house during their waking hours.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Food and Photography, France, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gigolo d’Agneau

  1. What a charming post! How I wish that I had sheep living in a field outside my kitchen door! And I think you are very kind and charitable to those sheep, I doubt many barn animals can brag that that they are given scraps of Brioche! Even I would love stale scraps of Brioche, I’m sure it would make heavenly bread pudding… Your writing is very amusing 🙂

Leave a Reply

