The exposed fish face

Deep and crisp and uneven. I was forced to remake, and therefore eat again, the fabulous unfried fish and chips about which I eulogised earlier this week. On that occasion bad light ( it being a January evening) halted photography. This time they were featured as Sunday lunch, which seemed appropriate after my recent photographic encounter with the gates to the bovine river Styx, so I can share this daylight portrait of the little beauty with you. The picture sports a visual cliché so beloved of the advertising fraternity – “the exposed fish face”. I remember that inanity actually having some importance to me in an earlier life. That which was of such import was the anticipation of being very well paid, and which involved Oscar winning performances at pre production meetings during which I had to appear as someone who gave a flying fish. Those days are thankfully/sadly over. Thankfully, as I sleep better at night: sadly, as without them I’m lucky to have a roof over my head.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Food and Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The exposed fish face

  1. Production meetings and Oscar winning performances. Love it! Can your Simply Fed book be bought as a hard copy? Also, can you recommend any books on the use of ‘light’ in photography? I am having Light room installed actually vs Photoshop… there are some tutorials on the Adobe site that I I’ll need to knuckle down and watch. Tips and advice welcomed 🙂

  2. And of course, i want it for the photographs 🙂 I’m enjoying reading the posts that parallel the workings on the book.

Leave a Reply

