Bearable pain

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The unbearable lightness of being without fresh bread forced me to make the journey to the boulangerie in a nearby village. The fact that I only saw two people, one being the baker, the other a passing cyclist, is no longer surprising to me. The emptiness suited my photographic mood. There was a clarity of light, the normal greyness of January had been spirited away, if only for a moment. As I rarely go into this village I was bombarded with images during my short excursion. All the images were new to me. I had not seen the painted house before. Normally the old river bed is covered by several metres of water. To take a picture of a bench in the car park would be impossible from Spring onwards, because there would be a car parked in each of the little white lined spaces. I came home with some good pictures. My next move is to the kitchen where I’m going to cook a tagine with chicken, merguez, apricots, almonds and olives.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Food and Photography, Landscapes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bearable pain

  1. I am happy I discovered your web blog this morning and located this very informative write-up. I am sending it through to my very own good friend that’s likewise intrigued enormously with this topic.

    _____________________________________
    Jack Handy – “One thing vampire children have to be taught early on is, don’t run with wooden stakes.”

Leave a Reply

