Gerry Rafferty

I knew Gerry for a short time. In 1975 I shot this cover for Stealers Wheel. It is not ground breaking as far as album covers go, but it was certainly ball breaking. The shoot was to take place on Loch Lomond ( if not Loch Lomond, certainly a loch of some sort). I flew to Glasgow where I was met by Gerry and the excellent Joe Egan. Being about 9.30 in the morning they felt it would be best if we had a drink to get us started. It was the beginning of the end. We travelled in a limo to the loch, sipping whisky and Special Brew ( a drink that should be called Especially Vile Brew) as we passed through apparently dramatic scenery. By that time I would not have noticed scenery even if we were entering Mordor. We got to the loch and fell out of the car. I assembled the camera and put it on a tripod, with the belief that its steadying influence might help an already lost cause. The situation made the Forlorn Hope seem like a well calculated military operation. I then felt bad, everything went black and I fell on my sword. My next real memory was a sensation of flying. Flying I was, in every way, but mostly back to London, with no picture. The rather dull picture above was shot in studio in London several weeks later, in a break between drinking.

Gerry was an amazing song writer, a startlingly good companion and the most redoubtable drinker that I have ever met.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gerry Rafferty

  1. Cheryl says:

    Can you do something for Vegetarians?

  2. What a great story! Love the album cover despite it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

