Crumbs

Breadcrumbs on a leek tart
Breadcrumbs have become big in my life. They had held a very lowly position in my cookery vocabulary until recently. I had always imagined them as a dessicated coarse powder of dried bread that would act as a crisp shell over a gratin,  around a piece of fried fish or whatever. The source of this epiphany was Jamie Oliver. Having bought “30 minute meals” to be given as a Christmas gift, I couldn’t resist trying a set of recipes. 50% of our household of two people does not eat meat, so I was cajoled into cooking one of my least favourite dishes – “Cauliflower Macaroni” -for me, macaroni has connotations of the “sick bay” at school, as does “Tuna Bake”. Those 30 minutes were not among the most rewarding half  hours that I have spent. To be honest it was a long half hour; about an hour. This is not a criticism of the idea, but a reflection of our life style. Living at a slow pace in the heart of the countryside does not equate with the need for speed. The experience, however, was totally rewarding, as I learnt how to make fabulous breadcrumbs. Instead of whizzing stale bread to a tasteless powder, the recipe demands 4 thick slices of fresh country bread. These are put into the Magimix, crusts and all, with the addition of fresh rosemary leaves, oven crisped pancetta and “a good drizzle of olive oil”. In fact I changed the quantity of olive oil to a “glug”. They truly became a crowning glory, however what lay beneath the crown was not to my taste. I should mention that Jenny loved it to bits, as did our daughter and her children, so I guess a result of 4 “ayes” and 1 “nay” carries the day for Jamie.
About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crumbs

  1. I used to love sick bay 😉

Leave a Reply

