’tis the season that dare not speak its name ….

choc_cake_crop_0015Cake and chocolate are two “C” words that have not, as yet, been proscribed. Christmas and cunt have been. Creating forbidden fruit has never succeeded in producing an aversion in those to whom the fruit are irresistible. Words of all kinds are irresistible to me and I will not be rationed or denied. However, this being the season of good will, albeit one that dare not speak its name, I shall confine myself to the pleasures of cake and chocolate. The fire is crackling, the cat’s asleep on the biggest armchair and I’m planning the cooking that I’ll be doing over the next few days: which situation is not that different to any other winter Friday save that, in truth, I know exactly what I’ll be cooking as the orders have been placed by family members with vivid childhood memories that have to be annually reproduced with same attention to detail as a Vermeer by Han van Meegeren. As cooking gives me a great deal of pleasure I am often deflected from my purpose by recipes and memories of own. Whilst engaged in researching the cookery books on my shelves, in the vain hope of finding something new that will successfully pass as something old, I picked up a book with the unimaginative yet concise title of “French Cooking”. This turned out to be a Marks & Spencer publication from 1978 which credentials are not the most arresting. I was on the hunt for a cake to sustain me through breaks in my cooking and I was not disappointed. Should you find this book by Eileen Reece, buy it. Although photography fashions have changed the thrust of the book supports all my beliefs in uncomplicated home cooking with the very best ingredients which does not mean the most expensive. The chocolate cake I found therein does everything a chocolate cake should do. It seduces by look, taste and texture and is hard to keep for any length of time as forbidden fruit are, as I previously mentioned, the most tempting and are, happily, quite irresistible.

choc_cake_crop_0047

Dominiques Chocolate Cake

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, cake, Childhood memories, Christmas, Cookery Writers, Cuisine bourgeoise, desserts, Digital photography, Dominique's Chocolate Cake, Eileen Reece, fireplace, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, harmony, Humour, hypocrisy, Memory, Photographic Prints, Photography, photography course, Recipes, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to ’tis the season that dare not speak its name ….

  1. Andy Szpuk says:

    Looks amazing Roger!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    OMG – C*** Season! Muriel Belcher would be in her element 😉

  3. mmmmm… chocolate cake. Want!

  4. Misky says:

    A very happy Christmas to you, Roger. 😉

  5. Even those crumbs look ever so tempting.

  6. cecilia says:

    I love a chocolate cake that has actual chocolate in it, is it light? with the egg whites being whipped I imagine it is full of air, like a sponge.. I call it Christmas, it is after all Christmas. Just as I call Hanukkah – Hanukkah and The Chinese New Year the Chinese New Year … I have never understood how Christmas can be offensive if none of the others are offensive or renamed. To each his own. So Merry Christmas Roger.. may your cooking be bright. c

  7. Gerlinde says:

    Love that recipe, Fröhliche Weihnachten

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent writing Roger. Lovely cake too. Happy Christmas to you and yours.

  9. Francesca says:

    A lovely cake; chocolate and almons go so well together. and lots of ‘c’ ness to ponder.

  10. catterel says:

    Oh the frustration of tradition at such times! yes, I want to try something different too, but can’t disappoint those expecting the same procedure as every year (do you know “Dinner for One”?) That c*ke looks wi*ked.

  11. Angeline M says:

    This is a chocolate cake I will be trying. Easy and looks delicious. Have a very happy Christmas!

  12. A very lovely cake Roger. Nice shadow on our photograph. I love french cakes, so simple…

  13. Eha says:

    Oh, you are full of Christmas Spirit if puss is allowed to cosy down in the most comfortable chair!!

  14. suej says:

    Ooooh, this looks the real deal, the puppy’s privates, even!

  15. Sally says:

    “cooking as the orders have been placed by family members with vivid childhood memories that have to be annually reproduced with same attention to detail as a Vermeer…” I’ll be doing the same and have just been looking wistfully at a recipe for Jamaican jerk turkey which I don’t think would meet their expectations! Have a wonderful C word Roger. Looking forward to poring over your delicious images and chuckling at your witty prose in 2015.

  16. Yep. Nice work and I’m very impressed that you have been able to use the c-bomb in your post. Very nice work indeed 🙂

  17. Amanda says:

    Beautiful as always, Roger.

  18. Am counting the days until it’s all over…;) Wishing you all every happiness for Christmas and the New Year Roger.

  19. Michelle says:

    Nice plate! Have you been lurking at the marché aux puces again? Hope you and Jenny have a lovely, lovely holiday.

  20. ChgoJohn says:

    That cake wouldn’t last long around here, Roger, and that’s saying something being I live alone.
    Wishing you and Jenny the best Christmas and a most joyful New Year.

  21. Love your funny prose as well as your recipe for a cake that no doubt I would adore…this or any season. Happy Holidays and New Year. Looking forward to seeing lots more in 2015!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.