More dommage than hommage….

comp-2Pictures taken with phones are today’s Polaroids which made me think of Hockney’s Joiners….which led to this memory of the Jardin du Palais Royal

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Art photography, Digital photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to More dommage than hommage….

  1. I say hommage. Totally reminiscent of Hockney’s pool polaroids I grew up seeing in L.A. Love it.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    ROFL – Hockney’s Fleurs-de-lis :-)

  3. suej says:

    I wouldn’t say dommage…

  4. Jen says:

    I just came across an old photo album my grandmother put together after a trip to Europe with her aunt. The last ten pages were of postcards of famous sites she visited. I wondered if people still do that. Buy postcards and put them into albums. It made me buy a postcard. It made me think about doing that more often.

  5. My French Heaven says:

    One of my favorite spots in Paris! This makes me want to drive there right now…

  6. EllaDee says:

    “Our souls as well as our bodies are composed of individual elements which were all already present in the ranks of our ancestors. The “newness” in the individual psyche is an endlessly varied recombination of age-old components.” Carl Jung… a lot of words to say, or sing “everything old is new again”…

  7. I have always loved Hockney’s ‘joiners’ and admire him for so willingly embracing new technology and different ways of seeing and working. His exploration of the use of the camera obscure by classical painters, starting with Caravaggio [I believe] was a revelation to me. They way you did the above, to me is so much more interesting than the seamless ‘joining’ Photoshop will do!

  8. Your puzzle fell into beautiful place, Roger.

Leave a Reply

