Letters from a window to a garden….

window_lab2_may18_0009

Dear Garden
Just a note to say how lovely you’re looking today. You may not have noticed me, but I’ve been admiring you for some time. This wall had been blind for many years until I arrived. One of my ancestors had watched over a previous garden but had been put out for some reason: the scars remained which led to my being installed in the identical position, returning sight to this side of the house.
How you have grown since my first glimpse of you, some nine years ago. You were a featureless wasteland and, hopefully without causing too much offence, I confess that I regretted the lack of shutters to obscure the view. I am aware that you must have shared in this pain as your reflection would have remained even when the curtains were drawn inside.
Kind regards
Window

Dear Window
How nice of you to take the time to write to me. It embarrasses me to admit it, but I have been very absorbed with myself this past month. It’s wonderful to get dressed up in summer clothes after a drear winter. I should mention that it gives me immense pleasure to see myself reflected so gloriously in your immaculate surface. How lucky I am that you should have been replaced in that blind stone wall just at the moment of my renaissance.
Yours truly
Garden

Dear Garden
I am delighted to hear that your reflection gives you so much pleasure. As a window I am restricted to seeing that which is before me. Should there be another window in front of me, I would be able to see myself reflected therein. I always wonder what it would be like to see that which is reflected in me.
Your friend
Window.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Digital photography, Garden, Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Vicarious pleasure, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Letters from a window to a garden….

  1. Although considered rude, sometimes it is truly lovely to dip into another’s correspondence. x

  2. what a delightful post!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    You should introduce those two to Mr. Pool and Mr. Hockney ;-)

  4. margaret21 says:

    Charming post. I bet Window has no regrets about having joined your family.

  5. Please pass on my congratulations to both Garden and Window for their eloquent writing. Now I’m off to ask my garden and window why they don’t write letters. Maybe it’s because mine are from the far reaches of the South of France, and the skills have filtered down here from more educated climes yet. Oh well.

  6. Misky says:

    Splendid. Completely captivating, Roger.

  7. Beautiful, just beautiful is this post about the Window & the Garden. A lovely relationship they are having this fine May.

  8. cecilia says:

    Bonkers! Delightfully so. Best i go and clean my windows, if they are talking to each other about the level of filth they have to deal with i will have some shattered nerves! Because my gardens are in a terrible state! c

  9. Eha says:

    Do not quite know whether to enter such a private conversation :) ! Agreeing with Celi and raising her comments to ‘Double-Bonkers’ !!!!! Do not think either my garden windows or garden would love any mutual letters at the moment: well, perchance ‘words’, not polite ones for sure!!!!!

  10. Lovely conversation between window and garden, interesting that window is a he for you….. I am very familiar with conversations like that, especially when most beautiful butterflies stop by at my window; it seems to talk to the fly-by visitors because for minutes they seem to stop flattering at the window…..

    • I think it’s an automatic thing….the “he” thing when I write about creatures or objects of indeterminate gender….it might also be that I’m happy to do anything that is not PC. I loved your phrasing, even if by mistake: “….they seem to stop flattering at the window..”. Absolutely the same conversation as garden and window:)

  11. EllaDee says:

    Edith Wharton wrote “Set wide the window. Let me drink the day.” Without it we could only imagine the beauty of the garden. And indeed the garden enhances the beauty of the window. Like a happy marriage.

  12. Sally says:

    Poetic and philosophical Roger.

  13. I love this! Most creative epistolary post I’ve ever read.

  14. suej says:

    Delightful post, Roger. WordPress has been playing silly monkeys and I haven’t been getting any of your recent posts in my reader…….

Leave a Reply

