a very sweet peary tale….

pears_overhead0004Once upon a time there was a very nice pear called William and I cooked him and ate him…and all of his family. As a peary tale, it’s grimm, but there it is; it’s rare for a pear to have a happy ending. The relationship between man and pear, fruitful as it may be, is, of necessity, brief. A delicious pear is an elusive beast. A body can painstakingly choose each fruit, mindful of colour, scent and form, then carefully pack them so as to ensure that they remain without bruise or blemish on the journey home, yet still suffer bitter disappointment as teeth sink into an insubstantial, watery delusion. Such is the disingenuousness of many a seductive looking pear. The Williams, lying cheek by jowl with some very disappointing Conference pears, in the picture above were models of firm, scented and delicious juiciness making them paragons of peardom.

I had recently read on Manger”, a very elegantly presented blog,  a deliciously simple recipe,  with pears which sealed the fate of William and his nearest and dearest.

pears_cooking

Pears cooked in butter with flaked almonds and served with a salt caramel sauce sounded wonderful and so it turned out to be.

pears_caramel_0021
pears_caramel_sauce

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Almonds, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Fruit, Nuts, Pears, pears salt caramel sauce, Photography, sea salt, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to a very sweet peary tale….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    What a nice pear ;-)

  2. No pear. You took all the good puns

  3. You are right about pears. One does not know how tasty they are until the bite into them. These four William pears are bound to be delicious – and met a very happy fate with a “pearing” of salted caramel! I like that this recipe is seasonal. Beautiful photos! – Shanna

  4. MELewis says:

    Any pear paired with chocolate is a marriage made in heaven. But I’ll have to try the caramel, looks yummy!

  5. My poor Asian pears will receive this treatment as soon as I get home. Yum yum.

  6. Michelle says:

    I’ve given up on pears, for all the reasons you cite. But this looks like reason enough to give them another chance.

  7. Love the Manger blog – sigh.
    Wonderful use of pears and caramel and gorgeous photos too!

  8. margaret21 says:

    Mmm yes. Pears can be such a disappointment raw. But with marriages like yours that you wrote about here, or with red wine, or with chocolate, it’s such a different story. Tantalising photos too. Good enough to eat.

  9. My luck with pears is so mixed but this post and recipe makes me think I need to try again.

  10. They look delicious.
    I rarely buy pears as they are usually too hard or too soft.
    Oh for a pear tree and garden of my own (Sigh).

  11. Eha says:

    Hmm, a totally unsophisticated child am I ! Walk past one said fruit bowl, reach hand in said bowl, curse the juice I seem to drop everywhere whilst walking around with said pear to slip the tiny remnants where they belong . . . should really give said pear a little more respect perchance . . .

  12. And then, William was no more. He was an ex-pear.
    Personnification can be a heartbreaking business, Roger.

  13. Misky says:

    You clever wordsmith, you. Gorgeous photos, too. And thanks for the heads-up on Manger. Gosh, what a beautiful blog that is!

  14. The “salt caramel sauce” and “cooked in butter” in one sentence sounds too tempting!

    Tonight I was served very pleasant pickles made from pear and pineapple in a Portuguese-Malaccan restaurant in Malacca, Malaysia. I did not order it but it was either like a small starter that everyone got or something that I got because of what I ordered, a steamed white fish (turned out to be huge) cooked in different spices but mostly chili based, like chutney that you would get with your curry though the pickles I had were solid and very lightly pickled.

  15. What an elegant and tasty looking dessert.

  16. cecilia says:

    I love reading your writing.. your pictures aren’t bad.. though i have said that before and do not wish to swell your head, one needs to be able to fits ones hats at this time of year. I have never made a salt caramel sauce, I shall go back and investigate further.. c

    • Salt caramel is big here, and has been for many years because of all the artisan sea salt production.They still use the old Gallo-Roman salt pans on the Ile de Re.Salt caramel has now become very big everywhere…it is a very good combination of flavours well worth trying:)

      • cecilia says:

        I look forward to having a go.. is it in the same genre as salt taffy?.. c

      • I’ve just googled “salt taffy” and it looks like a hard sweet/candy to me. Salt caramel sauce,in this recipe, is a simple caramel sauce made salty with salted butter.They do have salt caramel sweets/candy here which are like salt taffy…I guess you could melt salt taffy to make quite a good salt caramel sauce.

  17. Karen says:

    Oh yum, I happen to have two pears sitting on my counter. This sounds like a delicious way of using them…thank you Roger.

  18. saucygander says:

    Would this work with nutella? I pear all recipes down to bare essentials while on holidays…

  19. Oh here again, another seductive simple joy of deliciousness!!!!! Wish you an amazing year 2014 filled with joy and happiness, and always a full glass of red or white.

  20. ChgoJohn says:

    This post makes it readily appearant that a good dish needn’t be a complicated one. It was cleverly written and beautifully photographed. Good one, Roger.

  21. Lori M-I says:

    I usually like my pears barely ripe, crisp, hard, and green, but this just might make me change my mind.

  22. Pearfectly gorgeous – the dish, the words, the photos! Am having a bit of a love affair (or love a-pear) right now with salted caramel.

  23. I have four pears sitting on the side. This recipe is pearfect. (Groan)

  24. Just seen someone has pipped me to the post!

  25. I have a bit of a “Pear” fetish and this post is just my kind of thing. I often blog about pears & pear recipes so it just is great to have your great recipe and lovely photos to encourage my addiction.
    Happy New Year.

  26. Rörschåch says:

    Must now run to the store and buy some pears. This looks so wonderful, Roger.

Leave a Reply

