We Three Kings of Ory and Tar…

It’s a lovely song but it doesn’t take much to realise that something, or someone, is missing. The title declares the presence of three kings yet only the king of Tory and his chum, the king of Tar are mentioned. Who was the third king? Is this the origin of the Third Man? Maybe he just wasn’t mentioned because he was the fool who thought myrrh would make a good birthday present….and for God, for God’s sake. Frankincense is a not a brilliant idea, especially if the opposition is giving gold, but what possessed anyone to choose myrrh?

“Myrrh is mine, its bitter perfume, breathes a life of gathering gloom..” oh yes, and Happy Birthday …King of the World. How much better to pop into the Bethlehem branch of Tiffanys, grab the pale blue box  and sing ” Silver I bring, its blingy bling bling, looks so cool on a kingy, king, king”. But he didn’t and he’s forgotten.  Not entirely forgotten, to be honest, because the Lord has declared himself to be omniscient, omnipresent and, above all, myrrhciful.  A shitty present like that is not going to be forgotten easily. An omnipotent God, who is full of myrrh, is daunting indeed and the missing king is certainly to blame….no wonder he kept his name out of things.

Having a very under developed will power, owing to the rarity of its exercise, I ripped open my present, the Clementine, and set to eating it….which set my mind to thinking of chocolate ….and luckily there was  some that I had made earlier. A dark chocolate mousse, imbued with Cointreau, which is very, very Christmassy and would probably have made a very good present….

choc_mousse_orange_0015

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Chocolate Mousee, Christmas, desserts, Digital photography, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Humour, Myrrh, Religion, Three Wise Men, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to We Three Kings of Ory and Tar…

  1. Dick Polak says:

    You sound like an atheist for Christ’ sake !

  2. Victoria says:

    Yum!.
    I don’t think we have Clementines in Australia (or else I’ve just never seen one at the local fresh food market).

    Frankincense is the perfect gift. Anti-aging essential oil fit for embalming the Egyptian Kings.

  3. suej says:

    Ory and Tar indeed…. Sounds like my interpretation,as a child, of All Glory Lord and Donna…. and I never could figure out who Donna was… Anyway, to cut to the chase I was eating a nice rich chocolate mousse with raspberries last evening, Clementines at lunchtime with dates and walnuts. Must be the season… :)

  4. You ate my clementine!!!

    MTM found a set of computer speakers while cleaning out his office. He was determined to send them to you until he realized they plug into the wall…….

  5. That was Good King Wenceslas. It took ten centuries and many reincarnations but he “redeemed himself.
    Happy Everything!

  6. There’s always someone that gets forgotten over time, isn’t there?

    “Hey, Joe! Remember that time we took some camels over to that kid in Bethlehem?”
    “Yeah, those were good times. You remember that clown that was with us? He brought myrrh! I thought I was reachin’ with frankincense. Say, what was his name? I can’t remember.”
    “You know what? Neither can I! I say you have it comin’ with a present like that.”
    “Too true, buddy. Too true.”

  7. Mad Dog says:

    It’s a bit early for presents, the Kings don’t arrive until the 6th ;-)

  8. ah, what do kings know about life in a stable! i say bring a clementine and offer to make chocolate mousse for the kid’s birthday!

  9. Was all this going on while the shepherds washed their socks by night? Gosh it was busy in Bethlehem. They’d have all been better off at home with another bottle of wine and a a kilo of clementines ;)

  10. Eha says:

    Yes, I agree with MD: that austerity sure took but a moment to wear thin ~ I am certain chocolate mousse, especially with Cointreau, does not fit the bill Milord ;) !

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    “Myrrhciful”, Roger? Really? Just how much Cointreau was used to imbue that mousse?

  12. saucygander says:

    Ha! Someone is having way too much fun.

  13. Oh come on ! Who’s having such things already done in the fridge… Must be paradise !
    Anywah Myrrh, the only doable choice (We can still find it in Bénedictine… So god can be found in very strange ways :-) (and you just taught me how to say “encens” in english !)

  14. Misky says:

    This absolutely sent rollsofsnortinglaughter from me. myrrhciful indeed. Myrrhciful heavens, even. A very happy Christmas and my best wishes to you for the new year.

  15. Joyful (and Delicious) Xmas Time!

  16. Ah, the communal blogging mind well at work! Ha ha Roger, I really thought that those were the lyrics and that I had got them wrong all these years. Thanks to google I did not make a fool of myself. Wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas :)

  17. Karen says:

    What a wonderful and decadent looking mousse…I’m glad you have given up on austerity. Have you ever published the recipe as I have a bottle of Cointreau sitting in my cupboard.

  18. I’ve just come back from Dubai and brought back myrrh and frankincense — a fitting Xmas present? Choc and citrus– great combo… and I bet your dish tasted amazing. Merry Xmas, Roger!

  19. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  20. cecilia says:

    Often I come over here to be a voyeur and have a giggle at you and Mad Dog.. you guys are funny.Now since you brought it up .. have you ever heard of fred dagg? he was a funny guy in NZ . here is a little of his version of We Three Kings. You may sing along roger. Once you get to ‘star of bewdy’. (pronounced Beeyoody) You must shout it out and wave your beer bottles about – the big Lion Brown beer bottles that used to come in wooden crates. of course.

    We three kings of Orient are
    One on a tractor, two in a car
    One on a scooter
    Tooting his hooter
    Following yonder star
    Oh, oh
    Star of wonder
    Star of light
    Star of bewdy, she’ll be right
    Star of glory, that’s the story
    Following yonder star .

    Fred (Johns Clark) changed the face of christmas carols in NZ and turned them into drinking songs.. much more appropriate I think!..

    c

  21. catterel says:

    Don’t know how I missed all this – must have been that Westwood leading, still proceeding, – leading me astray.

  22. very interesting blog , i follow you and will read you , and hope you the succeed, thanks for accepting me as a reader , happy new year

  23. Definitely the type of gifts that when given to a child the parents say you just need to smile and say thank you. We’ll regift next year….

  24. I had chocolates filled with Cointreau for Christmas (in my stocking). Yum. And clementines and chocolate mousse? Among the best stuff out there! :-)

  25. Rörschåch says:

    Roger, your photo is food magazine worthy. I kind of wish there was lick-a-vision….

Leave a Reply

