The simple chemistry of eggs and butter…

spinach_omelette_pan_0012 copy

Every now and then I abandon the keyboard and take a pen in my hand and move to a place in the house that is free from technology. Sitting by the fire in the fading daylight, surrounded by our books, is where I can coax the words that describe the thoughts from their sleep in my old head. Peeling a tangerine leaves an exotic bergamot scent on my fingers that rises up to my senses as my hand writes on the page. My eyes are filled with white paper and scribbled hieroglyphics but my mind is replete with contentment, fire warmth and exotic perfume. This evening there is no music nor whirring computers to distract, just the crackling roar of wood burning on the fire which brings to mind the sound of hot butter spitting at the moment when it’s ready for me to throw bright yellow, beaten eggs into the omelette pan. Omelettes can’t be rushed, neither can they be left to their own devices. The eggs, that have now spread over the surface of the pan, will start to set which is the sign to start pushing the edges gently towards the middle of the pan. My flat, wooden spatula lifts the curds of egg and at the same time I tilt the pan to let the molten egg run from the surface onto the newly exposed hot base of the pan. The soft yellow disc is soon ready for me to throw in a handful of wilted spinach, together with a good sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese. I tilt the pan and lift up one side of the omelette with my spatula, gently folding it over onto the spinach and cheese and let the filled pillow slide from the pan onto a hot plate, that will keep the eggs slowly cooking while I fill a glass with something crisp, fruity and cold. It might be some cidre de garde from Normandy or even some fresh apple juice made from local apples.

The scent of oranges lingers on, reminding me that it’s Christmas time and I should be engaged in more festive fare, but I take another mouthful and another sip……

spinach_omelette_0010 copy

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Cheese, Christmas, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Drinks, Eggs, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Parmesan, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to The simple chemistry of eggs and butter…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You’re on an egg roll ;-)

  2. Delicious writing, young man. By the by, do you have hens in your garden? You’re eating a lot of eggs at the moment :-)

  3. MELewis says:

    Egg-xellent! There is nothing like an omelet for a quick and simple, delicious and nutritious meal. And when it comes to eggs, you either got it or you don’t. I do – oddly, my husband, who is French, does not. Keep crackin’

  4. Lauren says:

    … that first picture especially! aaahh!

  5. suej says:

    An omelette and a glass of wine…..

  6. Amanda says:

    Gorgeous omelette. The egg is an art form indeed. Hopefully this turned out better than your last adventure.

  7. Andy Szpuk says:

    A classic Humpty Dumpty moment – love the way you tease the drama out . . .

  8. Such an intense yellow!

  9. OMG – I was sitting here craving eggs and thinking I might revise my dinner plans as a result when I saw your post. Pushed me over the edge. Simple chemistry of eggs and butter was exactly where my brain/stomach were going. Lovely photo as always.

  10. Omelettes are always as good call. I enjoy them with spinach and feta cheese.

  11. EllaDee says:

    A wonderful matching, the reliable simplicity of notepad & pen with eggs & butter.
    Truly, an omelette is not Right unless it is cooked with butter.

  12. I avoided this all day. I knew I would be miserable after I read it, craving eggs and butter and whatnot. We only have omelets on weekends around here, which is one of the things that makes weekends shine.

  13. Eha says:

    What a wonderful peaceful picture . . . the omelette and wine will beckon in a few hours but I have just looked at the unopened mail on that computer of mine and know what one of my New Year resolutions will be . . . no fires crackling here but quietness daydreaming under my giant fig tree with a breeze in my hair sounds oh so very inviting . . .

  14. Michelle says:

    But my handwriting has become so horrible… Quite the lovely omelet, Roger. Obviously the neighbors’ hens are happy.

  15. Looks like I’ll be having an omelet for breakfast tomorrow. :)
    If only I could re-create the one I had in Paris years ago. Lots of butter, lots of mushrooms. Best ever.

  16. Great pictures and great writing. Both have moved me to make an omelette for breakfast tomorrow. Now I must get to sleep so the moment will arrive sooner. Thanks.

  17. Lori M-I says:

    Sighhh I eat eggs for breakfast almost everyday. I should probably just wait until the morning to read these and avoid the temptation of a late night second serving of delicious eggs.

  18. There is no one, who can create such luscious words and omelets like you Roger. Cheers to simple food like eggs and butter.

  19. Jen says:

    I am more of a citrus fan than I am an omelette fan but I appreciate how you highlight the mindfulness required to enjoy each.

  20. fransiweinstein says:

    You have just cooked one of my favourite omelettes. Thanks. Now I know what I will be having for lunch — sans the roaring fire, unfortunately.

  21. cecilia says:

    I have the fire and the wine, the omelette will surely follow, it is nice to sit peacefully once in a while isn’t and your words were almost sensual today roger.. lovely work.. c

  22. They say the measure of a chef is a well-executed omelette. Bravo. – Shanna

  23. Beautifully crafted words – I was there with you looking over your shoulder and posed with my own book and a fork in hand. How could you have stood to wait a few moments (or however long it took) to take those stunning shots before digging in?!

  24. mrsugarbears says:

    Now I need brunch. :) Beautiful, as always.

  25. ChgoJohn says:

    I cannot decide, Roger, which I like best, the omelet, the photos, or the prose. I think I’ll have a nightcap and then decide. Salute!

  26. chef mimi says:

    Your top photo is outstanding!

  27. Spinach with everything! Beautiful photos.

  28. Karen says:

    The sign of a good egg is the color of its yolk, a good chef by his omelet, a photographer by the photos, and a good writer by his prose…you seem to have them all.

Leave a Reply

